Unofficial Experts: Professional Vulgarity

The past couple of weeks have given me an incredible realization of self. I’ve listened to the podcast The Unofficial Expert with Sydnee Washington and Marie Faustin . These comedians co-host this podcast as two black women living in New York City. Though not always, they frequently have guest speakers that are an “expert” on the specific topic being covered that week. Washington and Faustin include any topic or situation that has shown up in their daily lives. Topics I’ve enjoyed include: how to scam Bed in a Box, how to secretly and successfully do sex work, Los Angeles auditioning tips, and Uber ride etiquette. This seems to have more of an impact on me because of the nature in which Washington and Faustin present this information. It is not only from the perspective of a black person living the city life (which I really enjoy and connect with), but the way in which they actually do it. These women each have their own sense of humor, both peppered with variant degrees of raunchiness and wit. The “NSFW” material leaves an impression on me in a way I’m sure they intended it to. It keeps me super aware of what their saying and it will not let me forget it because I’m laughing with myself in a public place as people stare.

The Unofficial Expert is targeted to the black LGBTQ community. This primary audience focus makes me feel included and respected as a viewer and a listener. I, myself have attempted to start a podcast called the “Token Minority.” I have realized after listening to this podcast just how pusillanimous I had been about seriously going for it. The “it” in this case is using controversial terminology and allowing for my listeners to hear my unfiltered sense of humor and my indecorous opinions. I have definitely learned from Sydnee Washington and Marie Faustin. They have shown me how freedom of self expression is absolutely key in a successful podcast of this nature. I’m excited to keep listening and get my own podcast up and running. The inspiration could not have been more educational.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started